The Elder Scrolls Online

Early Access and Launch FAQ

Make sure you’re fully prepared to start your adventures by finding out the answers to some common questions.

We’re ready! Are you? Early Access and launch for The Elder Scrolls Online on PC and Mac are approaching fast, so we’ve gathered up the answers to some questions you might have about them. Give this Q&A a read for some important information. If you want to know something we haven’t covered here, check out our customer support center—we’ll be happy to help you out.


Q: What day and time will the servers open for the 5-day Early Access?

A: The ESO North American and European megaservers open at 7:00 AM EDT, Sunday March 30th.

Time Conversions:

North America (East):   7:00 AM EDT, Sunday March 30th

UK/IE:   12:00 PM WEST, Sunday March 30th

Central Europe:     1:00 PM CEST, Sunday March 30th

Sydney, Australia:   10:00 PM AEDT, Sunday March 30th

Singapore:   7:00 PM SGT, Sunday March 30th


Q: What day and time will the servers open for the 3-day Early Access?

A: If you have 3-day Early Access, you may log into the game starting at 7:00 AM EDT, Tuesday April 1st.

Time Conversions:

North America (East):   7:00 AM EDT, Tuesday April 1st

UK/IE:   12:00 PM WEST, Tuesday April 1st

Central Europe:     1:00 PM CEST, Tuesday April 1st

Sydney, Australia:   10:00 PM AEDT, Tuesday April 1st

Singapore:   7:00 PM SGT, Tuesday April 1st


Q: What time will the game servers open on 4.4.14?

A: The ESO North American and European megaservers will open at 7:00 PM EDT, Thursday April 3rd.  (Please note: these times are subject to change.)

Time Conversions:

North America (East):   7:00 PM EDT, Thursday, April 3rd

UK/IE:   12:00 AM WEST, Friday, April 4th

Central Europe:     1:00 AM CEST, Friday, April 4th

Sydney, Australia:   10:00 AM AEDT, Friday, April 4th

Singapore:   7:00 AM SGT, Friday, April 4th


Q: Do I need to delete the beta client and download a new client for launch?

A: No, you do not need to delete your beta client or perform a new download and reinstall. If you have the live beta client, you can simply patch it up to the launch build starting on Thursday the 27th of March. We encourage you to patch up to the launch build early so you’re ready to go for Early Access or launch day!


Q: I pre-ordered/pre-purchased the game, and don’t have a beta client. When can I start downloading the game client?

A: Once you complete the pre-purchase from the ESO online store  or enter a 3 / 5 day Early Access pre-order code via your account page, simply log in to your account at https://account.elderscrollsonline.com from Thursday 27th March onwards and follow the prompts to begin downloading the game client. We encourage you to download and patch the client early.


Q: If I pre-order or pre-purchase the game during the Early Access period (between March 30th & April 3rd), will I receive the Explorer’s Pack?

A: If you wish to get the Explorer’s Pack pre-order benefit, you must either pre-purchase at the ESO online store or pre-order from your favorite retailer prior to official game launch.


Q: Will I keep my character, benefits, and account from beta?

A: The only thing that will carry over from the live beta is your account information, including your UserID.


Q: I participated in the ESO beta. Do I get anything special for my participation?

A: Yes, you get a monkey vanity pet to call your own. Check your in-game mail on 4.4.14 for a message containing the little simian.


Q: How will I receive my Explorer’s Pack in-game items?

A: The Scuttler Vanity Pet and Bonus Treasure Maps will be sent to your in-game mailbox starting from launch on 4.4.14. For more details about the Explorer’s Pack, please visit our ESO Store FAQ.


Q: How will I receive my Imperial Edition in-game items?

A: The Imperial White Horse is purchasable for 1 gold from any stable in the game, as soon as you start the game. The Mudcrab Vanity Pet will be in your in-game mailbox starting from launch on 4.4.14. The Ritual of Mara will be in your in-game mail as soon as you start the game—simply perform the ritual with your desired partner to get the Rings of Mara. For more details about the Imperial Edition, please visit our ESO Store FAQ.


Q: When I pick the North American and European megaserver, is that a permanent choice?

A: At launch, game accounts will have access to both the North American and the European megaservers, but individual characters will be bound to the server on which you create them. Accounts can maintain a total of 8 characters per server, so you could have a total of 16 characters if you play on both servers.


Q: When do I begin my included 30 days of game time?

A: Once the Early Access period is finished and the game has launched (see server launch times above), please visit https://account.elderscrollsonline.com  and follow the prompts to select your preferred subscription plan. For customers who prefer to purchase Game Time cards from a retailer instead of using a credit card, we offer this as an alternative option for your convenience. Redeeming a Game Time Card or selecting a subscription plan will commence your 30 days of included game time.


Q: Are you going to have any multi-month subscription plans? If so, what are they?

A: Yes, we are. We want to ensure that you can reap the benefits of investing more time in The Elder Scrolls Online. Because of this, we offer discounted rates for committing to 90-day and 180-day payment cycles.

We also offer you the option to choose between recurring subscriptions and one-time payments, as well as the ability to pay using a variety of payment methods.


Q: What payment methods do you accept?

A: We accept several different forms of payment for The Elder Scrolls Online. You can pay for your subscription to the game using one of the following payment methods:

  • American Express
  • Game Time Cards
  • Giropay
  • iDeal
  • MasterCard
  • PayPal
  • paysafecard
  • Visa
  • WebMoney

Please note: Payment methods vary by region. You will find a list of valid payment methods for your region when you enter your subscription payment information.


Q: Who do I contact if I have problems with the game or my account?

A: If you experience any issues with the game or your account, please visit our Support Center.


Q: Am I able to get the Explorer’s Pack after 4.4.14?

A: No, the Explorer’s Pack is available only if you pre-order or pre-purchase The Elder Scrolls Online. The Explorer’s Pack will no longer be available after the game’s official launch.


Q: Can I upgrade to the Imperial Edition after 4.4.14?

A: Yes, you can upgrade a Standard Edition of The Elder Scrolls Online to a digital Imperial Edition in the ESO Store starting on 4.4.14.


For more commonly asked questions and answers about The Elder Scrolls Online, please visit our Support Center Knowledgebase.


Discuss this on the official ESO Facebook page.