The Elder Scrolls Online

European Megaserver Migration

We’re preparing to make the move to our new datacenter! Get the details and answers to your questions here.

We know many of you have been looking forward to the migration, and we’re ready to share the specifics. The European megaserver migration will begin at 1:00PM BST (8:00AM EDT) on July 30th, and we anticipate that the process will be complete by 10:00PM BST (5:00PM EDT). During the migration, the European megaserver will be unavailable, but the North American megaserver, account site, and forums will not be affected.

If you have questions about the process, we’ve got you covered. Here are a few common ones. If you don’t see your question here, make sure to check out our knowledge base.


Will anything change for me when the migration is complete?

Nope! All your characters will be just the way you left them before the move. There won’t be a patch to download, either.



The migration seems to be during European primetime. Why is that?

Moving everything over to our new datacenter is a complex operation involving a large number of our engineers and support staff in Europe and North America. It’s important to us that everyone we need for the process is awake, ready, and available. This will help us make the transition as smooth as possible.



I’m European, but created characters on the North American megaserver. Can I move them to the new European megaserver?

No. The migration will only affect characters that already exist on the European megaserver, and no transfers are available right now.


We’re looking forward to the move and are doing everything we can to make sure your characters arrive safely in the Frankfurt database. See you there!


Discuss this on the official ESO forums.