Markarth & Update 28 Now Live on All Platforms


The Dark Heart of Skyrim epic concludes with Markarth, our newest DLC game pack for The Elder Scrolls Online. Learn all about the new DLC and Update 28 base-game patch in this launch article.

The Markarth DLC game pack and Update 28 are now available on PC/Mac, Stadia*, Xbox One, and PlayStation®4, taking you to the wilds of the Reach and bringing the year-long Dark Heart of Skyrim storyline to its stunning conclusion.  

Within the DLC and free base-game patch, you will find:

  • Two new zones to explore: the Reach and Arkthzand Caverns
    • Packed full of new quests, characters, and challenges
  • The conclusion to the Dark Heart of Skyrim storyline
  • New rewards, including item sets, Achievements, and collectibles
  • A new solo arena: Vateshran Hollows
  • The new Item Set Collection system
  • New quality-of-life improvements
  • And more!

This DLC is free for all current ESO Plus™ members or available for purchase with crowns from the in-game Crown Store. You can read the patch notes for both Markarth and Update 28 on our official forums.

Markarth DLC Game Pack

The Reach is under siege, and the dark forces of the Gray Host prey on the land’s beleaguered tribes from deep beneath the city of Markarth. In The Elder Scrolls Online: Markarth, you can explore two new zones, discover the proud tribes of Reachfolk, and conclude the year-long Dark Heart of Skyrim adventure.

Explore the Reach & Arkthzand Caverns

For the first time in The Elder Scrolls Online, you can explore the unforgiving wilds of the Reach and the underworld beneath it. Filled with new stories, characters, and challenges, as you venture into this perilous part of Skyrim, you’ll encounter a people both stalwart and resilient, struggling to defend their home against the Gray Host.

Explore Markarth under Reach control

In addition to the Reach, you can also venture into the area of Blackreach known as the Arkthzand Caverns, the world beneath the city of Markarth. Filled with new quests, delves, world bosses, Harrowstorms, and more, these two zones will challenge even the strongest adventurers and doom those foolhardy enough to go it alone or unprepared. For more, check out our preview.

The Dark Heart of Skyrim Concludes

In the Markarth storyline, you’ll join forces with the local Reachfolk to confront the Gray Host. As you stand with the “Despot of Markarth” Ard Caddach and other Reach allies, you’ll unravel the terrible schemes of the Vampire Lord Rada al-Saran, and battle your way into the darkest depths of Blackreach to stop him.

While the Markarth storyline is a complete tale from start to finish, should you have already completed the Greymoor Chapter’s AND the Markarth DLC’s main storyline, you’ll unlock additional quests that bring the year-long Dark Heart of Skyrim adventure to its final epic conclusion.

Vateshran Hollows Arena

Test your mettle and discover if you’re strong enough to call the Reach home in Vateshran Hollows, a new solo arena designed to push even Skyrim’s strongest warriors to the limits of their skill and courage. Within this new single-player challenge, you’ll have the opportunity to choose your paths as you enter three realms touched by Oblivion and defeat the dangers within.

Choose your path in Vateshran Hollows

Filled with challenging boss battles and no shortage of secrets, you’ll earn rewards and honors for completing this new arena, including special item sets, Achievements, and collectibles. Get ready to claim the title of Spiritblood Champion—glory awaits!

The Reach’s Bounty

As you explore both the Reach and the world beneath, you’ll uncover and earn rewards unique to the new zone and DLC, such as powerful item sets (three zone sets and three crafted sets), exclusive collectibles, and Achievements. It won’t be easy, but the bounty of the Reach is there for those strong enough to take it.

Earn all-new rewards in Markarth

How Do I Get Markarth?

The Markarth DLC game pack is free for all ESO Plus members and available for purchase for 2,000 crowns from the in-game Crown Store (listed under DLC). Note that if your ESO Plus membership lapses, you will lose access to the DLC until you renew or purchase the DLC with crowns. You won’t lose any items or rewards you earned while you had access.

In addition to the base DLC, the Markarth Collector’s Bundle is also available for 4,000 crowns. This includes access to the DLC game pack, the Chaurus Egg Chaser’s Horse mount, the Teacup Chaurus Chitterling pet, and Crown Experience Scrolls. You can find and purchase the Markarth Collector’s Bundle from the Featured section of the in-game Crown Store.

The Markarth Collector’s Bundle

Getting Started in Markarth

With access to the Markarth DLC, you can venture into the wilds of the Reach by the following methods:

  • By teleporting directly to the North Markarth wayshrine from your map
  • By using the DLC tab of your Collections UI and accepting the “The Despot of Markarth” quest from the Zone DLC section

Once you’ve entered the Reach, you can explore the new zone, begin the DLC’s storyline, discover its many delves, world bosses, and Harrowstorm locations, or encounter any of the local Reachfolk—it’s up to you!

Finally, the first time you set foot in the Reach, you’ll receive the Arkthzand Anfractuosity Shroud completely free.

Get this unique hat when you first enter the Markarth DLC content

Update 28 Base-Game Patch

Releasing at the same time as the Markarth DLC game pack, the Update 28 base-game patch brings a host of new features and bug fixes for all ESO players, completely free.

Item Set Collection system

With Update 28, you can now add hundreds of ESO’s item sets to your Collections UI and reconstruct them at a cost of Transmutation Crystals from any Transmutation Station (such as the one found in Clockwork City). You can find your collected sets within your Collections UI under the new “Sets” section. This new system will allow you to free up much-needed inventory, bank, or coffer space since almost every set in Tamriel (with the exception of crafted ones) can now be safely “stored” in Collections.

Collect Tamriel’s item sets

Don’t go deconstructing everything yet! Check out our preview and FAQ for everything you need to know about this new system.

Crafting Writ UI improvements

Also included in this update are improvements to the way you complete Crafting Writs. With this patch, if you have any Crafting Writ “quests” relevant to a crafting station you’re currently using, it’ll display appropriate details, including what materials or selections need to be picked to complete the quest. No longer will you activate a crafting station only to discover that you’ve forgotten what you need to craft for your writs!

For everything coming as part of Update 28, check out the patch notes section on our official forums.

The Dark Heart of Skyrim Ends Here!

With the launch of the Markarth DLC, the year-long Dark Heart of Skyrim adventure comes to its thrilling conclusion. Explore the perilous Reach, challenge yourself in Vateshran Hollows, confront the Gray Host, and uncover the dread secrets found beneath the stone city of Markarth—all of Skyrim hangs in the balance! Tell us if you’re planning to venture into Skyrim’s dark heart and conclude your year-long epic via TwitterInstagram, and Facebook.

The Dark Heart of Skyrim epic concludes with the Markarth DLC game pack and Update 28, now available for PC/Mac, Stadia*, Xbox One, and PlayStation®4.

*Available only in limited territories.

Keep reading